The Priory of the Orange Tree

The Priory of the Orange Tree

The New York Times bestselling "epic feminist fantasy perfect for fans of Game of Thrones" (Bustle). NAMED A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY: AMAZON (Top 100 Editors Picks and Science Fiction and Fantasy) * CHICAGO PUBLIC LIBRARY * BOOKPAGE * AUTOSTRADDLE A world divided. A queendom without an heir. An ancient enemy awakens. The House of Berethnet has ruled Inys for a thousand years. Still unwed, Queen Sabran the Ninth must conceive a daughter to protect her realm from destruction--but assassins are getting closer to her door. Ead Duryan is an outsider at court. Though she has risen to the position of lady-in-waiting, she is loyal to a hidden society of mages. Ead keeps a watchful eye on Sabran, secretly protecting her with forbidden magic. Across the dark sea, Tané has trained all her life to be a dragonrider, but is forced to make a choice that could see her life unravel. Meanwhile, the divided East and West refuse to parley, and forces of chaos are rising from their sleep.

Empire of Sand

Empire of Sand

A nobleman's daughter with magic in her blood. An empire built on the dreams of enslaved gods. Empire of Sand is Tasha Suri's lush, dazzling, Mughal India-inspired fantasy debut. "An ode to the quiet, fierce strength of women...pure wonder." -- Samantha Shannon, NYT bestselling author of The Priory of the Orange Tree "A darkly intricate, devastating, and utterly original story." -- R. F. Kuang, author of The Poppy War "Stunning and enthralling." -- S. A. Chakraborty, author of The City of Brass The Amrithi are outcasts; nomads descended of desert spirits, they are coveted and persecuted throughout the Empire for the power in their blood. Mehr is the illegitimate daughter of an imperial governor and an exiled Amrithi mother she can barely remember, but whose face and magic she has inherited. When Mehr's power comes to the attention of the Emperor's most feared mystics, she must use every ounce of will, subtlety, and power she possesses to resist their cruel agenda. Should she fail, the gods themselves may awaken seeking vengeance... The Books of AmbhaEmpire of SandRealm of Ash

The Girl King

The Girl King

Two sisters become unwitting rivals in a war to claim the title of Emperor in this sweeping tale of ambition, sacrifice and betrayal for readers of Tomi Adeyemi, Kendare Blake and Samantha Shannon. All hail the Girl King Sisters Lu and Min have always known their places as princesses of the empire. Lu is destined to become the first female emperor, while Min is resigned to a life in her shadow. When their father declares their male cousin heir instead, his betrayal throws both their lives into chaos. Determined to reclaim her birthright, Lu must flee the court in search of an ally. Her quest leads her to Nokhai, the last surviving wolf shapeshifter. After years in hiding, Nok is forced into an uneasy alliance with the girl whose family killed everyone he ever loved. Now they need an army to take back the throne. Left alone in the volatile court, Min's hidden power awakens. It's a forbidden, deadly magic that could secure Set's reign . . . or allow Min to claim the throne herself. But there can only be one emperor, and the sisters' greatest enemy could turn out to be each other . . .

The Bone Season Series Bundle

The Bone Season Series Bundle

Enter the “intoxicating... dystopian universe” (NPR.org) of Scion in the first three books in Samantha Shannon's New York Times bestselling Bone Season series. London, 2059. In the Republic of Scion, clairvoyance is illegal, but a criminal underworld thrives in its shadows. Unique among clairvoyants, Paige Mahoney is a dreamwalker, capable of possessing other people – and under Scion law, she commits treason simply by breathing. Elsewhere, however, there is a seat of power even greater than Scion. And they have a different design for Paige and her uncommon abilities . . . In these sweeping, extraordinary books, Paige will rise to become the leader of a revolution like no other, determined to bring justice to a world that will stop at nothing to destroy her.

The Mime Order

The Mime Order

In the New York Times bestselling second novel in the epic Bone Season series, Paige Mahoney may have broken out of prison, but neither the government nor her prison guards are going to let her escape so easily. It is a dark time for clairvoyants in London. Scion, the ruling government, is in league with the Rephaim, an extraordinarily powerful, otherworldly race that intends to make humans its slaves. Paige Mahoney may have succeeded in leading a mass break-out from the brutal camp, Sheol I, where she and other clairvoyants were systematically imprisoned, but she hasn't truly escaped. As Scion turns its all-seeing eye on page, and the ruthless leader of the Rephaim sets out in pursuit, Paige must find safety in a London underworld and a clairvoyant community that is beginning to crumble.

Goodnight & God Bless

Goodnight & God Bless

Travellers and pilgrims seeking a unique experience can now uncover the ancient secrets of convents and monasteries around Europe. We reveal these atmospheric and affordable places that accommodate tourists or those pursuing a pilgrimage or spiritual retreat. Suitable for the traveller, the pious and the curious alike, this user-friendly travel guide provides accommodation, local tourist information, places of pilgrimage, travel tid-bits and anecdotes against a fascinating backdrop of history and religion.

Time Out Rome

Time Out Rome

Written by local experts, Time Out Rome provides extensive coverage of the major sights — and then goes much further. Featuring everything from born-again trattorie to the burgeoning apertif trend, it offers visitors the chance to experience the Eternal City as the Romans do. History in Rome is not confined to museums, basilicas and galleries — it tumbles out everywhere. And though the city is reassuringly compact, this does not stop the cultural onslaught from being utterly bewildering and exhausting. While some travelers may have to face the fact that they probably won't see everything, it is also important not to shut oneself up inside all day looking at collections and sites or you will miss all that the outdoor scene has to offer. Time Out Rome helps travelers navigate through the cobblestone streets, so that they can eat, drink and shop like the natives. Suggested side trips out of town are also explored.

The Songstress

The Songstress

Spreading her wings wide enough may break the songstress free... unless her captors manage to clip away her very spirit first. Seventeen-year-old Kari, now exiled from her people, spends her days singing in the teahouse and her nights huddled with Suying, a younger girl she has taken under her wing. But when Kari's songs draw the attention of the empire, both girls are abducted and forced to become royal concubines to the Imperial Brothers of Xiang. Their compliance means a life of subjugation, but any form of disobedience is met with brutality and death. After an abated escape attempt where Kari once again sacrifices herself to keep Suying safe, the songstress helplessly watches as the sister of her heart begins to embrace the harem, zealously cleaving to her new life. Determined to find a way to save the brainwashed girl from despair while fending off the desires of the emperors, Kari must dig deep inside herself for the will to keep hope alive while doing whatever she has to break them free from the gilded cage in which they've found themselves. Every song Kari sings stirs emotions, and, with the right magic, she knows she's capable of intensifying those feelings into a weapon without form. With only her wits and the mystic techniques she learned as a child, the songstress will fight to her last breath against the soul-destroying submission her sister willingly surrendered to--even if Kari's resistance ultimately means her own death. The perfect blend of fantasy, adventure, and danger, this new series is ideal for fans of The Mistborn series by Brandon Sanderson and The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon.

A CHRONOLOGICAL HISTORY OF AUSTRALIAN COMPOSERS AND THEIR COMPOSITIONS

(VOLUME 1: 1901–1954)

A CHRONOLOGICAL HISTORY OF AUSTRALIAN COMPOSERS AND THEIR COMPOSITIONS

This book is volume 1 of a 4 volume series, the first 3 of which have been published by Xlibris and the 4th almost complete for imminent delivery. In its entirety this work is the most comprehensive and accurate account of Australian Classical Music making ever undertaken. The 4 volumes cover the period from 1901-2012 and include more than 800 composers, famous and obscure, with more than 30,000 compositions including details of their premieres (where, when and by whom). Individual performers, ensembles, orchestras, opera and ballet companies, music educators, instrument makers, entrepreneurs, academics, philanthropists, musicologists and critics are included as part of the story. The foundation and demise of music institutions, venues and festivals is recorded chronologically. Altogether an extensive picture of Australian Classical Music production and performance can be gleaned in any given year. This book is distinct insofar as it can be read conventionally (from cover to cover): or one may choose a composer/performer and follow his/her career year by year; or one may open the book at random and delight in the unusual and esoteric information therein. This book, and its companion volumes are valuable and indispensible works for the serious music student, professional musician, performing amateur, cultural aficionado and inquisitive lay person and should be in the library of every reputable music conservatorium worldwide.

Summer Bird Blue

Summer Bird Blue

"Raw, real and deeply hopeful" – ALICE OSEMAN Rumi Seto spends a lot of time worrying. What to eat, where to go, who to love. But one thing she is sure of – she wants to spend her life writing music with her younger sister, Lea. Then Lea dies in a car accident, and Rumi is sent to live with her aunt in Hawaii. Now, miles from home, Rumi struggles to navigate the loss of her sister, feeling abandoned by her mother, and the aching absence of music. With the help of the "boys next door" – teenage surfer Kai, who doesn't take anything too seriously, and old George Watanabe, who succumbed to grief years ago – Rumi seeks her way back to music, to write the song she and Lea never had the chance to finish. With unflinching honesty, Summer Bird Blue explores big truths about insurmountable grief, unconditional love, and how to forgive even when it feels impossible. PRAISE FOR SUMMER BIRD BLUE "Raw, real and deeply hopeful. I will read anything Akemi Dawn Bowman writes." – ALICE OSEMAN author of I Was Born For This and Radio Silence "Bowman dives into the sea of grief with her protagonist and celebrates the kinds of love that are eclipsed all too often. With this remarkable book, she has cemented her position as one of the most progressive and insightful authors of her generation."– SAMANTHA SHANNON author of The Priory of the Orange Tree and The Bone Season series "Summer Bird Blue is without a doubt one of the best books I've read this year. It grabs your heart and won't let go." – BOOK RIOT